I went to the gym today.

Finally.

I went to the gym today, as a matter of fact I exercised today, for the first time in 38 days.  Will this be the day I restart my fitness-centered life?  Let me back up.  I have been exercising regularly and rigorously for 20 years (minus the last 3 years).  I used to run 20 miles a week, I lifted weights, ran three half marathons, three 10 mile races, and countless 10k and 5k races.  I skied, snowboarded, ice skated, hiked, rollerbladed.  I had a house full of fitness equipment.  I easily exceeded the recommended 10,000 steps a day.

But then I stopped.  A combination of personal issues led me to alter every aspect of my life, including my fitness routine.  I’ve been trying to get back into it ever since.  In the past 3 years I joined 3 different gyms.  In total I’ve gone a total of 7 times  I even started running.  I was up to 4 miles three times a week, but then I stopped.

But, I went to the gym today…

3 responses to “I went to the gym today.

  1. Hi Grace,
    This is the first time reading your blog…i couldn’t relate more if I tried. Why is it that you feel so good when you do exercise….why would you want to stop? Then you stop and it’s sooo hard to get back to it. It doesn’t make sense. I think your head has to be in a good place. I haven’t exercised regularly in about a year and I need to get back to it but i’m just not feeling it. I wish I could get back into it!

  2. Pingback: Three Years of Health and Blogging | Let's Get in Shape Together

Leave a Reply

