Share the Road

In my small coastal city we have seemingly perfectly good sidewalks. Yet, I run in the road. I run facing traffic and stay very close to the curb, ready to jump up if an errant vehicle comes my way (although I don’t know how much good that would do, if a vehicle comes that close to the curb they will no doubt end up on the sidewalk anyway!)

Why do I run in the road? Because the sidewalks are made of cement or bricks. As runners know, the asphalt road is easier on your feet, ankles, achilles, legs knees and hips! So drivers out there, I am not crazy, I know there is a sidewalk, I see you and I take full responsibility for not getting run over!

One response to “Share the Road

  1. Pingback: Running Surfaces and Running Shoes | Let's Get in Shape Together

Leave a Reply

