Happy 2nd Birthday!

My blog is 2 years old today!  I started this blog as   motivation to help me get back into exercise and healthy eating after a lapse in both.  I am very happy to report that I have been successful in terms of exercise, healthy eating, and blogging.

On the exercise front I manage to go to the gym a few days a week and workout with weights.  I am on a good program and have gotten stronger.  I also practice yoga 2-3 days a week and it feels great!  Last spring I got back into running and ran some 5k and 10k races and even ran a half marathon.  My times certainly weren’t what they once were, but I DID IT!

My eating has improved greatly. I even lost some of the excess weight I had gained.  I would be very happy to lose 5 pounds more, but as I have heard more than once, “it’s only a number”.  More importantly I managed to bring my cholesterol numbers back in line.  My next steps in my quest to eat healthy are to buy (and use) a juicer and start buying organic vegetables (more on that later).

6 responses to “Happy 2nd Birthday!

  1. I just stumbled upon your blog and I can SO relate with you! I started my own blog last year to help keep myself motivated with living a healthy lifestyle as well. It’s tough, but I’ve found the blogging world to be a big help! Congrats on your 2 year old birthday! Keep it up!

  2. Melanie, I enjoyed your blog too. We share a lot of common interested. I’ve subscribed so I can read your future posts too.

  3. Good stuff. I’d be very interested in how you’ve managed to improve your cholesterol numbers. Keep up the good work!

  4. I cut wayyy down on desserts and high fat foods. Switching to skim milk, olive oil based spread (as opposed to butter), but down on eggs and red meat and added A LOT more fruits and vegetables to my diet. While my overall cholesterol number didn’t change much, my HDL increased and LDL decreased. I’ve recently added fish oil as that too is supposed to help…we’ll see.

  5. Congratulations on your blog-versary and sticking to your healthy lifestyle.

  6. Pingback: Three Years of Health and Blogging | Let's Get in Shape Together

Leave a Reply

