Plant Based Diet and Joining a CSA

I have been eating a lot of vegetables lately.  I am following my own advise that I’ve been sharing in this blog and eating mostly a plant-based diet.

My objective is to eat for health, avoiding meat (except the occasional organic free range chicken and/or grass-fed beef), cutting out dairy products, and eliminating processed sugar as much as possible .

It really isn’t so hard when your motivation is avoiding diseases such as cancer,  heart disease, stroke and diabetes.  I have lost 8 pounds since February and even more important — I feel great!

To make sure I’m getting fresh, organic vegetables, I joined a CSA this summer.  CSA stands for Community Supported Agriculture.  It is a way to share in the harvest of a local farm.  You pay the annual fee up front, giving the farmer needed cash for seeds, fertilizer, etc, and then each week throughout the summer, you get a box of fresh vegetables and fruits.

I’d like to thank Heron Pond Farm for letting me be a part of their community.  This week I got a pound of potatoes, a pound of snap peas, a bunch of beets, a bag of spinach, a head of lettuce, 2 tomatoes and a quart of strawberries — yum!  I eat fresh vegetables all week.

Whatever is left at the end of the week goes into my juicer!

photo by Julie Schneider of Heron Pond Farm

7 responses to “Plant Based Diet and Joining a CSA

  1. Subscribing to a CSA has been the best thing I have done. Love everything about it 🙂

    I host a weekly CSA link party and would love for you to be a part of it. Come and check it out and add your link…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/20/whats-in-the-box-31/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

  2. I need to subscribe to a CSA. There is one that is offered through my work, I wonder if it is too late…I like your idea of using your juicer for whatever is left over. Handy way to use it all up, get your moneys worth and drink healthy!

  3. Good for you for following a healthier diet! I try – I eat tons of vegetables and I ferment some of them, too. But I can’t say my kids are as interested in healthy- they are more focused on tasty. I’ve done a bit of CSA eating – this week, my friend brought me her beets from her delivery. I fermented some of them.

    • Another idea is to put the veggies in a juicer! Beets especially add a lot of sweetness to a vegetable juice, and turn the juice from green to a more pleasant reddish color (or orange depending on your beets). I use half a small beet in my juice.

  4. I am in fact happy to glance at this weblog posts which carries
    plenty of useful information, thanks for providing
    such statistics.

Leave a Reply

