You…Yes You….Get Up, Sitting is Killing You!

You’ve probably seen/read/heard the recent news stories about the dangers of sitting.  You know, being sedentary is as dangerous as smoking and that sort of thing.

Here is an info-graphic that I saw on a fellow blogger, Brett Day’s site, No Time to Weight.  It puts things into perspective.  I for one, am going to heed the warning!

 

 

 

You…Yes You….Get Up, Sitting is Killing You!.

4 responses to “You…Yes You….Get Up, Sitting is Killing You!

  1. I’ve definitely noticed a difference in how I burn calories this year since I’m not teaching. In the classroom I was rarely at my desk when students were in the room, but now that I’m writing all day, I’ve made more of an effort to get moving throughout the day, plus I’ve added in jogging, which at least has kept my body halfway in check. One of my biggest pet peeves are people who lurk in parking lots forever waiting for a spot close to the entry to open up or folks who never take the stairs… as if exertion is to be avoided at all costs.

    • Haha, so true Jeri. Our ancestors didn’t join gyms they got their exercise through life. Walking, taking the stairs, doing physical labor. Even just walking 30 minutes a day, not only burns calories, but keeps our muscles and joints moving so we can function when we get old–that’s motivation enough for me!

  2. Great, timely info, Gracey! Having worked at the computer 10-12 hours a day for a few years I saw the effects within a couple of years – now I stand at the computer most of the time. Have also seen a couple of reports that say even regular workouts don’t fully counter-balance the negative effects – it seems only taking about 10,000 steps a day or more does the trick. Since reading those I try to walk 3-4 miles a day, either in one stretch or over 2-3 shorter walks.

    • I always say I’m going to go out and walk at least half an hour a day on the days I don’t run or do yoga, but I rarely get to it. I have to make it a priority!

Leave a Reply

