Summer Salad with Tofu

I made a wonderful dinner tonight using a variety of cooked and raw vegetables and tofu.  It was delicious, nutritious and very satisfying!

First I sautéed 1/2 a sweet onion in some olive oil.

I added 1/3 of a brick of tofu (cut into cubes) to the onions and olive oil and simmered on low.

Once the onions started to turn translucent I added some balsamic vinegar to the onions and tofu and continued to let it simmer.

For the salad, I started with some green leaf lettuce

I added 1/3 a bulb of fennel sliced very thin

1/2 a red pepper, sliced

5-6 asparagus spears, steamed and cut into 1″ pieces

4 artichoke hearts arranged around the side of the plate

4 roasted Brussels sprouts, cut in half (for an amazing recipe see my earlier post). also arranged around the side of the plate

Lastly I poured the sautéed tofu and onions over the salad.  The oil and vinegar drizzled on top making a delicious dressing

This is a wonderful summertime meal!

12 responses to “Summer Salad with Tofu

  1. I’ve never cooked with fennel. Your salad sounds delicious!

  2. I’ve never tried tofu this way. May have to now. 🙂

    • It is quite versatile. I find that if I saute it in some olive oil and then add whatever spices go with what I’m cooking — garlic, basil and parsley for Italian; or chili powder, cumin and cayenne for Mexican I can use it just as I would have used meat!

  3. It’s been quite some time since I cooked with tofu. I remember it easily picking up a flavor in one of the ingredients. I curious about THIS recipe because I’m wondering about those asparagus – did their flavor get picked up by the tofu?

    • Actually the only thing I cooked together was the onions and tofu in olive oil.
      I used some steamed asparagus that I had in the refrigerator and added them (cold) to the salad.
      I poured the onion, tofu, olive oil, balsamic vinegar mixture over the whole salad.

  4. Susan Cooper/findingourwaynow.com

    I have not been a fan of Tofu, but that may be how I have used it. This recipe sounds really good so I may need to revisit my use of Tofu and give this a try.

    • It really grows on you. As long as you saute it with something flavorful — onions and garlic, or chili powder, or soy sauce and asian spices, or bake it with flavorful ingredients. I really like it now where at first I just tolerated it!

  5. Liked and subscribed your blog. Nice salad.

  6. Your tofu looks good and crispy! That’s always my challenge..

Leave a Reply

