How do your Brussels Sprouts Grow?

Have you ever seen Brussels Sprouts in their natural state?  I certainly hadn’t;  that is, not until this week when I picked up my CSA share from my local farm.  Check this out…

Each little Brussels Sprout grows along this thick stalk.  I imagine I will have to cut them off one by one!

I am very excited to cook and eat these Brussels sprouts.  I have a great recipe that I’ve posted before, but it is so good, it is worth reposting.

This recipe is  from The Food Network.  It is easy and delicious!

  • Cut  1 1/2 pounds of Brussels sprouts in half
  • Toss them with 1/4 cup of olive oil and a pinch of red pepper flakes, salt and pepper
  • Roast cut-side down on a baking sheet at 450 until caramelized, 25 to 30 minutes.
  • Drizzle with white wine vinegar (or white balsamic vinegar) and honey.

That’s it!  And why should we eat Brussels sprouts?  I’m glad you asked!

  • Brussels Sprouts are full of antioxidants.
  • They are high in fiber and  help lower cholesterol.
  • They help fight inflammation and certain cancers, including bladder, breast, colon, lung, prostate and ovarian.
  • Brussels sprouts are great for cardio vascular health.
  • The Vitamin K in Brussels sprouts helps keep bones strong and healthy and helps preserve proper brain and nerve function.
  • Their high vitamin C content helps keep promote an healthy immune system
  • Brussels sprouts are high in vitamin A–important for healthy eyes.
  • And lastly, they  are high in Folate which does all sorts of good things in our bodies including providing protection against heart disease.

So enjoy your Brussels sprouts!

6 responses to “How do your Brussels Sprouts Grow?

  1. I love Brussels Sprouts. This really sounds yummy.

  2. Sounds delicious. Brussels sprout better be in my side of the universe However I was just wondering if it is also good for fibroid?

  3. I do eat a lot of veggies, but I will admit that I’ve yet to partake in brussels sprouts. BTW I haven’t been to your blog for awhile, but mean to get back in the habit of visiting.

  4. I have read a few excellent stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how a lot attempt you put to make such a fantastic
    informative website.

Leave a Reply

