2013 Resolutions!

It’s that time of year again, time for New Year’s Resolutions!  I know it is January 4th already, but I like to take a few days to really think about the past year, and to set my goals for the upcoming year.

I really enjoy making resolutions.  I find that reviewing them throughout the year serves to keep me on track.  And since I’ve been blogging and posting the resolutions publicly, I have done a much better job keeping them!  So here’s to a great 2013!!

At first I was writing these haphazardly, jotting down everything that came to mind.  Then read a fellow blogger’s resolutions and I like the way she categorized hers so as imitation is the greatest form of flattery, I am going to categorize mine this year too!

Wellness

  • See the positive in every situation, or to follow the advise of  a fellow blogger, play the Glad Game
  • Don’t fret over or complain about issues; either act to change it or accept it
  • Procrastinate less, or to put it positively, use my time productively
  • Chronicle the good from the year by keeping a jar of good things that occur during 2013

Arts & Entertainment

  • See all of the movies nominated for the best picture Academy Awards (and see the new Star Trek movie)
  • See some plays
  • Go to some concerts
  • Take more photos during the year

Travel & Recreation

  • Go skiing
  • Go Ice Skating
  • Take a family trip (even if it is only a weekend)

Fitness

  • Practice yoga at least twice a week, preferably 10 times a month.
  • Be able to sit with my legs at a 90 degree angle and touch my chest to the floor or to put it in yoga terms, Upavistha Konasana
  • Run a 5k in under 24 minutes and/or a 10k in under 50 minutes
  • Do 20 push ups at once (full push ups!)

Money & Finances

  • Increase savings 10% over last year
  • Turn off lights when leaving a room
  • Turn off water when not in use (brushing teeth, washing dishes)

Personal Organization

  • Update all my personal addresses and phone numbers into one master list
  • Sync all my personal and business calendars to one electronic calendar
  • Redo my passwords

My Blogs

  • Consistently blog 2-3 times per week on personal blog,
  • and 2-3 times per month on my professional blog
  • Expand the topics of my blogs
  • Increase visits to my blogs

Education

  • Learn how to make a website

And I am going to carry forward a few of my favorite resolutions from next year:

  • Deepen 1-2 friendships
  • Make 1 new friend
  • Write 52 letters in 52 weeks
  • Get together with girl friends at least once a month
  • Visit family monthly
10 responses to “2013 Resolutions!

  1. Love them! I like your organization resolutions. I could stand to do a few of those things, too…

  2. I don’t make resolutions. I make plans. 2013 is going to be a very good year! 🙂

  3. You have a great list of resolutions. I personally do not make them. I set up goals; and strategies to attain the goals. All the best in 2013.

    • Martin, I agree, goals with real strategies are key. I call them resolutions but I do think of them as attainable goals with action items to track them. For instance turning off lights and not running water are easily measured in my electric and water bill! I try not to set vague “resolutions” — I’m going to be more patient, I’m going to listen more, etc… I’ve done these sort of resolutions in the past and they don’t work!

  4. Like Sherryl, I don’t make resolutions, but make plans, goals I suppose you could call them. Looks like you have your work cut out on these Grace. Good for you! They are all great ones.:-)

  5. I have never made resolutions. But for the first time this year I actually wrote down my plans for the year ahead (maybe this will change my fortunes for the year).

  6. Pingback: Give Pen and Paper A Try! | Grace's Rantings

  7. Pingback: Try Pen and Paper! | Let's Get in Shape Together

Leave a Reply

