End Treadmill Boredom!

As I mentioned earlier, I find running on the treadmill tedious, but given the girl on treadmillweather, I have decided to make it interesting by doing interval workouts.  Basically intervals are short bursts of speed followed by a little longer recovery. Coming up with a new pattern makes each workout fresh and interesting.  The key is to make sure that the recovery sets are slower than a typical training run.

Yesterday I decided to take one of the track intervals to the treadmill.  My comfortable training pace is about 9-9 1/2 minute miles (or 6.6-6.3 mph on the treadmill).  What I did was increase the distance of my speed intervals from 1/4 to 1/2 to 3/4 miles, (while decreasing the speed slightly), and then decrease the distance back down  with rest intervals in between:

  • 10 minutes warmup at 6.3 mph (9:30 min pace)
  • 1/4 mile (400 meters) at 7.5 mph (8 min. pace)
    • 1/4 mile recovery at 6 mph (10 min pace)
  • 1/2 mile at 7 mph (8 1/2 min pace)
    • 1/4 mile recovery at 6 mph
  • 3/4 mile at 6.6 (9 min pace)
    • 1/4 mile recovery at 6
  • 1/2 mile at 7 mph (8 1/2 min pace)
    • 1/4 mile recovery at 6 mph
  • 1/4 mile (400 meters) at 7.5 mph (8 min pace)
    • 1/4 mile recovery at 6 mph (10 min pace)
  • 5 minutes cool down working from 6-5 mph (10-12 min pace)

WOW, this workout kept me looking at the distance, not the time and I was shocked to see that I had spent 40 minutes on the treadmill!

And when I added up the distance I had gone over 4 miles, with 2 1/4 of them being at a faster pace than my typical training pace.

I recommend trying an interval workout, even if you are a walker.  The theory is the same, if you walk at 3 mph, make your intervals 3.5 and your rests 2.5.

Or you can change the incline.  Use 0 as you rest and have your intervals on 1% or 2%.  You can play around with your own patterns, just remember to make the rest intervals slower than your comfortable pace.

Have fun and let me know how you do!

 

 

4 responses to “End Treadmill Boredom!

  1. I needed this. It is a big challenge for me, as it is for others. This will help me get back and stay on track. 🙂

    • It really makes the time on the treadmill go by fast! Concentrating on altering the speed (or incline) back and forth keeps your mind from just staring at the slow moving clock!!!

  2. This approach feels like a game to me (which means fun). I have never been able to get into treadmills, so boring.

Leave a Reply

