A Green Juice to Remember!

The thing about juicing is that you can put ANY combination of veggies and/or fruits in the juicer and voila!  you have a nutritious juice.

green-juice

Most of the time the juice is delicious.  (However sometimes I have added a combination of things that resulted in a not so great juice.)

But, today my juice was terrific!  Light and flavorful…but green, so if this bothers you, throw in a small red beet!

This is what I juiced:

  • 1 cup of spinach leaves
  • a handful of kale stems
  • 1 carrot
  • 1/4 of  small kohlrabi
  • 1 stalk of celery
  • 1 small cucumber (I use pickling cucumbers)
  • 1 small apple
  • small piece of ginger

Not only does this drink taste good, it provides plenty of nutritional value!

  • Calories 131
  • Protein 4.1 g
  • Vitamin A 801 mg (115% of RDA)
  • Vitamin C 65 mg (87% o RDA)
  • Calcium 125 mg (10% of RDA)
  • Iron 2 mg (25% of RDA)
  • Magnesium 72 mg (23% of RDA)
  • Potassium 997 mg (21% of RDA)
  • Plus a bunch of other important vitamins and minerals

Let me know if you give this a try, or post some of your best juice combinations!

 

13 responses to “A Green Juice to Remember!

  1. Yummy… You had me at a touch of ginger. 🙂

  2. I like anything with fresh kale! Looks yummy.

  3. I want a juicer so bad! I heard there’s two kinds- one that almost cooks them, and one that presses them. The one that presses the veggies/fruits gets more nutrients I think. Which kind do you have? I heard that kale, spinach, apples and ginger is a great combo!

    • I have a Breville. It is a centrifuge juicer, meaning that the fruits and veggies get pressed and spun through a sieve. I think this is what you are referring to as the kind that “almost cooks them!” I have heard that the one that presses is better for the reasons you mention. BUT the Breville is EASY to CLEAN and so I actually use it!! If it has a lot of pieces and is a pain to clean, I know I wouldn’t use it!!

  4. I love juicing and I just recently bought a VitaMix so I’ve been doing it a lot lately. You inspired me to do this tonight!!

  5. As soon as winter leaves, I am giving this one a go! So many of my favorite ingredients. Thanks for this Grace.

  6. I’ve wanted a juicer for a while…this may be the inspiration I need! Thanks!

  7. I love how a few leaves of celery can do wonders! I so agree with you when the experiment is not so “great” haha. I have been in situations when I wanted to drain it in the sink instead of throwing it down my throat. Juicing is a quick way of getting all the essential nutrients in one go. Thank you for sharing.

  8. Pingback: Juicing — More Benefits | Let's Get in Shape Together

Leave a Reply

