6 Reasons To Drink More Water

My water bottle

Following is a guest post from Mary Richardson, I hope you find the information valuable…I did!

Humans are made up of approximately 75 percent water, which is why water is so important to our bodies. Everyone talks about how drinking water is necessary for a healthy lifestyle, but there’s still a big percentage of the population who chooses to drink soft drinks and coffee instead of water. Wondering why water is so important for your health? Here are six reasons.

Water helps to boost metabolism

If you’re looking to lose weight, there’s no better way to start than by drinking more water. A diet that includes at least eight glasses of water per day can help your body’s ability to burn fat and can increase metabolic rate by 30 percent in healthy men and women. By drinking water before a meal, it can help to fill you up, allowing you to get full faster and eat less overall. Keep in mind that by being even mildly dehydrated, this will slow down your metabolism as much as three percent.

It protects your heart

Did you know that drinking the right amount of water could help to lower your risk of a heart attack? According to a six-year study published through the American Journal of Epidemiology, those who drink more than five glasses of water per day were 41 percent less likely to suffer from a heart attack during the study period than those who drank less than two glasses.

Water prevents headaches

Do you frequently get those pesky headaches that can sometimes ruin your entire day? Yes, I’m referring to migraines, the world’s worst type of headache. Well it just so happens that drinking 1.5 liters of water in addition to the regular daily intake can help to reduce migraines and decrease the intensity of pain in which migraines bring.

Water improves brain functionality

Just as your brain needs oxygen to help it function at optimum levels, drinking the proper amount of water ensures that it’s getting exactly what it needs. By drinking eight to 10 cups of water every day, this can help to improve your levels of cognitive performance by as much as 30 percent.

It can make you rich

Drinking water can make you rich – what? While this might be a stretch, drinking water regularly can help you save a great deal of money. Think about it this way – if you drink sports drinks, sodas and other various beverages, you’re spending a good amount of money on these weekly. If you opt for a diet rich in just water, you’re going to be saving all of that money you would normally spend on the other drinks. Water is essentially free and is of course very good for you!

It keeps you alert

If you feel fatigued frequently in the afternoon, it is often due to dehydration. So for all of you heavy coffee drinkers, if you’re not combating the caffeine with some h20, chances are this is why you hit your afternoon slump. Next time you’re feeling a little tired in the afternoon, grab a glass of water and guzzle it down. Not only will it help wake you up, but it will also help you perform better at your job.

Attached Images:

Mary Richardson is a freelance writer and health advocate. She understands the importance of drinking 8 glasses of water each day which is why she invested in an industrial filtration system to make sure her water is clean and as healthy as possible!

15 responses to “6 Reasons To Drink More Water

  1. It has been a little over a year now that we gave up soda. Though we drink juice, tea and coffee, our primary drink is water. I really don’t miss the soda.

  2. Water is my first choice when I want something to drink. I enjoy it sometimes with a slice of lemon just for the different taste. Great article. I didn’t know water helped with headaches. 🙂

    • Yes! Sometimes a headache is brought on by dehydration and water will help. Or better yet, stay hydrated and avoid this type of headache in the first place!

  3. Embracing Sustainability

    Having given up soda and artificial juices, the next challenge is drinking more water. I hope can work this out too:)

    • I am trying as well. It is hard, especially in the winter, but with the warmer weather around the corner, I hope I manage to dring a LOT more water!

  4. Yes!! I’m a big water advocate, but I go in spurts. More recently I decided I’m going to start studying about it because the more I learn, the more I do. So this post was right on time! Also, never thought of the money issue. Good one! Thanks for letting Mary post this, Grace! Thanks Mary!

    • I am the same way, I’m good for a while, then I forget all about my water! But every day is a chance to start a habit and I’m drinking some water right now!

  5. HA! I love it – drinking water can be you rich! Rich and thin! perfect marketing!

  6. This is a hard thing for me. I’ve been drinking a lot more crystal light recently, so that’s a step in the right direction! I didn’t know that water lowers your risk of a hear attack. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

