How Not to Train for a Half Marathon!

So now I find myself training for a spring half marathon.   Not the brightest idea as typically I take the winter off from running in favor of yoga and weight training.  (I’ve come to realize that I can’t fit in yoga, weight training and running  all at the same time, but that’s a topic for another day!)

Anyway one of my running buddies suggested that we sign up for the Wallis Sands Half Marathon on April 28.

wallis sands

At the time we had 9 weeks to train, so I figured why not?  Well let’s see why not…3 snowstorms, a terrible head cold and cold raw late winter/early spring weather in New Hampshire!

But, always one to succumb to peer pressure.  I decided to give it a try.  I ended up starting training a week late (due to one of those snowstorms), and then I missed a week of training (due to the head cold).  I have however kept up with my long runs — 7, 8 , 9 and this weekend will be 10.

This week has actually gone well, I managed to get in two 5 mile runs during the week so I will have accomplished 20 miles for the week.  Now if I can keep it going for a few more weeks I might actually be able to do this half marathon–perhaps not do it well, but at least finish it in around 2 hours, and not  hurt myself!

Oh yeah, the main reason I agreed to do it — you are going to love this…  The asics nimbusrunning shoes I’ve been buying for the past several years, Asics Nimbus 14 are FINALLY coming out with new colors this Spring.  As my current pair is fairly new, I figured the half marathon training would help to wear them out so I could justify the new pair!!!  Check these out!!

8 responses to “How Not to Train for a Half Marathon!

  1. I completely agree with you on fitting on yoga, running, and weight training all at once. I’ve managed to continue a modest home practice (20 minutes in the AM a few days a week), but mostly because if I don’t, my body feels all out of whack from all the running!
    It’s crazy trying to balance it all. And those Asics are pretty snazzy–I normally go for Mizunos but that colorful model is pretty tempting!

  2. I will never understand women and their need for shoes. I figured this needed to be said.

  3. I also gave in to peer pressure and we signed up for the Boston half marathon end of May. Hmmm, going to need some new sneakers after that one too!

  4. If some one needs expert view on the topic of blogging and site-building afterward i suggest
    him/her to go to see this website, Keep up the fastidious work.

Leave a Reply

